Previous�|�Current�|�Next�|�Archive�|�Profile�|�Author |�Cast�|�Guestbook | Sisterhood | Scr�obhaim | Diaryland��
~ May 16, 2003 - 10:13 a.m. ~
"Oh crap, I graduated from college. Now what the hell am I supposed to do?"

Somewhere admist the confusion of the past couple of weeks, I managed to graduate from college. Twice. Actaully, the first time I graduated from my college, and the second time, I graduated from my university. NYU will tell you there's a big honking difference. I was just glad to get a little mileage out of my BRIGHT PURPLE ROBE. Here's how it all went down since my last entry.

Thursday:

Spent the day furiously working on my independant study paper.

Friday:

Same.

Saturday:

Was awoken by delivery people ringing the doorbell to give Tim and I a HUGE television. It was a graduation present from my mother's best friend. 27 inches, flat screen, DVD player. We spend the day sitting in front of it drooling and watching DVDs. At about 6 pm it occured to me that a) we hadn't eaten all day and b) I hadn't finished my paper, a draft of which was due the next morning and c) I had an end-of-the-year party to attend soon. I ended up having to skip the party to finish the stupid essay, which I did at four a.m. and emailed to my professor.

Sunday (Mother's Day):

Waited all day to hear from my professor about revisions I needed to make on the paper, as it was due the next day. Tim and I went to brunch to honor our mothers, and I went to Bed Bath and Beyond to get household repair/cleaning supplies, and some more scented candles. I indulged in a Swiffer Wet Jet as well, as I have learned they work miracles. Cleaned the apartment since my Nona was coming to stay with us. Watched Simpsons.

Monday:

Got up relatively early to contact professor regarding where/when I should drop off paper. I continued to do this for four hours with no response. I finally emailed him the paper, printed out a copy, and delievered it to his office, which he had apparently just left. This baffled me, because in addition to emailing him four times, I called his office seven times that morning, and he never answered or called me back. Anyway, I also dropped off my 80 bazillion library books that I had checked out for my paper (ok, it was only 10, but still . . .) and picked up my crazy-bright-purple cap and gown. I spent the rest of the day cleaning the apartment, and the Swiffer Wet Jet dissolved 3-month-old orange juice stains on the floor INSTANTLY. It is very cool.

Tuesday:

Got up stupid-early with Tim, gussied myself up and high-tailed it to Madison Square Gardens where I graduated from NYU's College of Arts and Science. It was a zoo. I big, purple zoo. Mom, Dad, and Nona arrived just after the President (of the University, not the country) gave his speech, and they got to see me walk across the stage along with my 1800 class mates. We went to Cloister Cafe for lunch, with a stop at Saint's Alp for bubble tea dessert. Nona also bought a bubble tea kit at M to M, an Asian import store. The parents then took me to the GAP and let me have a shopping spree, since I didn't want a graduation party, which I thought was a pretty sweet trade-off. Now I can get rid of all the ink-stained stuff, and donate some old clothes to Goodwill. We went to Rice for dinner. Wednesday: Got up and went to French Roast for breakfast with the family. We went shopping at the NYU store, and then sat about the apartment chilling out and looking at photos from my trip to Ireland. We went out to Long Island for dinner with my cousins at a Portuguese restaurant, and crashed early. Thursday: Awoke stupid-early again for the All-Univeristy Commencement. Again wore stupid purple robe. Stupid Mayor Bloomberg was our speaker, as we gave him an honorary degree, which I don't think he deserved. I think he's an ass, personally. Joe Torre, who also got an honorary degree, recieved louder more heartfelt cheers anyway, and he should have spoken. We went to La Men Sushi for lunch, and afterward I had to take a nap. We went to the Old Homestead Steakhouse for dinner, and I ate and drank myself silly. Friday: I woke up and uttered the words in my title. I saw Mom, Dad, and Nona off to the airport, Tim off to work, and I am lounging around before I run out to do errands. I have to go to the green market and pick up some maple cream, and then I think I'll sit around an re-read Harry Potter books. Tim and I plan to see X-men tonight. I think I like this graduation thing. This is not my commencement. It is a picture from 2001. My class's photo isn't up yet, but this should give you an idea . . . It's Purple Maddness!


Worst Wednesday Ever - June 30, 2004
Worst Wednesday Ever - June 30, 2004
Theraputic Tofu - June 26, 2004
Quick Note from Vermont - June 17, 2004
No Apologies - May 29, 2004


Created by Andi C. (02.21.2003)
1024x768 pixels, True Bit color