Previous�|�Current�|�Next�|�Archive�|�Profile�|�Author |�Cast�|�Guestbook | Sisterhood | Scr�obhaim | Diaryland��
~ August 14, 2003 - 2:09 a.m. ~
Childhood found

Back in New York now; let the adulthood begin. Although, I think I had a good run of a second childhood. Teen-hood, I should say. I think I definitely squandered my teenhood on trying to prematurely reach adulthood,or at least the legal drinking age. My early late teens (17 and onward) I squandered on Tim. Not that I really consider that time squandered. It's just that I was spending all my time trying to convince the folks that I was old enough to be in such a committed relationship, and was trustworthy enough to stay over at his house and such. And while that was fun, it was also chore, in that my parents really didn't *trust* me, trust me. In theory they did. In practice, I was just their little girl who had an 11 o'clock curfew. That was an embarassing first date with Tim, lemme tell you. We were going to go to the movies after dinner, but the Matrix (that's the original, kiddies) didn't get out until 11:10, so I had to phone home to make sure it would be ok if I stayed for the end of the film. It wasn't, and I had the embarrassing task of telling Tim I couldn't stay out past my curfew, as I had to go to church first thing in the morning.

At this point, pAndi scrolls down to see if there is anything good about her in this entry, as she has heard this rant many times before. Fear not, pAndi. There's a bit about you in here later.

Anyway, with their crazy-ass overprotectiveness, I had to compensate by proving myself ultra-mature, thus screwing myself out of those carefree "best years of my life." Frone, on the other hand, has benefitted from my maturity and responsibility, and is allowed to stay out till all hours, sleep in the same bed as his girlfriend, and be a little party kid. And I guess the mature part of me is happy that he is going into college footloose and fancy-free without the load of stress and the beginnings of a ulcer that I had. He is not going to be so stupid as to push himself through a business program in 3 years. He will take his time and emerge from UF just as lighthearted as when he entered it.

Because this vacation has done me worlds of good. I was a big, stupid ball of nerves and stress, even though graduation was months behind me. I couldn't relax. But going to Florida let me be a kid without the hardship of the first time around. I got to stay out as late as I liked (oh the irony, I no longer felt the urge to be someplace until 2 am. Not in FL anyway, there's nothing worth doing that late), go to the pool every day, and my mother and Nona cooked for me and did my laundry. Dad picked up my tab for everything from Starbucks to my bikini weaxes. I was bloody spoiled, and I liked it.

Clearly, all that is now over. I strained my neck doing the laundry today, and I have to go to the grocery store tomorrow, and all other manner of crap. But I think I'm ready now. I hope I am.

In other news (pAndi news) I am starting a new diary specifically for my writing. The first piece will be my LOTR fan-fic "The Bride of Sauron" and as soon as pAndi and I create a neato layout, I'll post the address here.


Worst Wednesday Ever - June 30, 2004
Worst Wednesday Ever - June 30, 2004
Theraputic Tofu - June 26, 2004
Quick Note from Vermont - June 17, 2004
No Apologies - May 29, 2004


Created by Andi C. (02.21.2003)
1024x768 pixels, True Bit color